Download the app and get the day’s most important stories.

October 15, 2019 | Via Sky News

Nobel Economics Prize Winner Esther Duflo Hopes to Inspire other Women

One of the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize for economics says she hopes her achievement will inspire other women to take up the subject. Esther Duflo is only the second woman to win the prize – the first was Elinor Ostrom in 2009 – since it began in 1969. The 46-year-old is also the youngest person to win the prestigious award.

October 11, 2019 | Via BBC

Ethiopia’s Abiy Ahmed Wins Nobel Peace Prize

The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed who made peace last year with bitter foe Eritrea. He was awarded the prize for his efforts to “achieve peace and international cooperation”. Mr Abiy’s peace deal with Eritrea ended a 20-year military stalemate following their 1998-2000 border war. He was named as the winner of the 100th Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo.

October 8, 2019 | Via The Washington Post

3 Win Nobel Prize in Physics for Work to Understand Cosmos

A Canadian-American cosmologist and two Swiss scientists won this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday for their work in understanding how the universe has evolved from the Big Bang and the blockbuster discovery of the first known planet outside our solar system. On Monday, Americans William G. Kaelin Jr. and Gregg L. Semenza and Britain’s Peter J. Ratcliffe won the Nobel prize for Physiology or Medicine.

October 3, 2018 | Via NPR

Nobel Prize in Physics Goes to Woman After 55 Years

Canadian Donna Strickland was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics. Strickland is the first woman to take the prize in Physics in 55 years and just the third woman in history to be awarded the Physics prize. She shares the 2018 prize with American Arthur Askin and French Gerard Mourou. It recognizes their discoveries in the field of laser physics.

October 2, 2018 | Via BBC

Nobel Prize in Medicine Goes to Cancer Research Pair

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to American James Allison and Japanese Tasuku Honjo. The pair’s research on how the body’s immune system can attack cancer cells was a ‘landmark in our fight against cancer’ according to the committee and ‘has fundamentally changed the way we view how cancer can be managed.’

October 10, 2017 | Via CNBC

Richard H. Thaler, Author of “Nudge,” Wins 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics

The 2017 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Richard H. Thaler for his contributions to the establishment that people’s’ behavior is predictably irrational. Thaler’s book, “Nudge,” about decision-making was a best-seller. He made strides in teaching economists to take human behavior into account, and convincing governments to take heed of economics.

October 4, 2017 | Via

Discovery of Gravitational Waves Wins 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to 3 American scientists who discovered the existence of gravitational waves, originally predicted by Albert Einstein. The scientists were architects of LIGO, the wave detection tool, and leaders of the organization which analyzed the data. A Nobel committee representative called it ‘a discovery that shook the world.’

October 3, 2017 | Via NPR

2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Awarded to American Scientists

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Medicine has been awarded to 3 American scientists for their work and revelations on the circadian rhythm. The researchers discovered how the circadian rhythm, or internal body clock, is regulated by cell activity. Their finding explains the biological regulation of the circadian rhythm for living organisms ranging from fruit flies to human beings.

July 14, 2017 | Via CNN

Chinese Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Liu Xiaobo Dies

Liu Xiaobo, the only Nobel peace prize laureate since 1935 to not accept his award has died of cancer at the age of 61 at a hospital in Shenyang in northeastern China. Xiaobo, who was imprisoned for reasons relating to his stances and actions that offended China was hardly known in his home country due to censorship. The Nobel committee fought hard for Xiaobo to receive treatment overseas but was denied by the Chinese government. Many mourn the loss of Liu Xiaobo who wanted equal rights and peace, and dedicated his life and gave up his freedom to send a message to the rest of the world.

June 27, 2017 | Via The Guardian

Liu Xiaobo Receives Medical Parole

Nobel Peace Prize laureate, Liu Xiaobo, the dissident who wrote promoting democracy, has been diagnosed with late-stage liver cancer and has been granted medical parole by the Chinese government. Liu, 61, who was arrested in 2008 in northeast China, is the only Nobel Laureate serving a prison sentence and China’s only Nobel Peach Prize winner.

June 2020
« May