Download the app and get the day’s most important stories.

June 30, 2020 | Via NBC News

Iran Issues Arrest Warrant for Trump

Iran has put out an arrest warrant and requested a red notice be published by Interpol for President Donald Trump following the killing of Gen. Qassem Soleimani in January, the Iranian state news agency FARS reported Monday. A red notice is a request to law enforcement worldwide to locate and provisionally arrest a person pending extradition, surrender or similar legal action.

June 30, 2020 | Via Reuters

China Passes National Security Law in Turning Point for Hong Kong

China’s parliament passed national security legislation for Hong Kong on Tuesday, setting the stage for the most radical changes to the former British colony’s way of life since it returned to Chinese rule 23 years ago. Details of the law – which comes in response to last year’s often-violent pro-democracy protests in the city and aims to tackle subversion, terrorism, separatism and collusion with foreign forces – are due out later on Tuesday.

June 30, 2020 | Via Sky News

US Supreme Court Strikes Down Louisiana Restrictions for Abortions

The US Supreme Court has defended abortion rights in Louisiana in the first ruling on the procedure since two Trump appointees joined the court. The major ruling struck down a state law that would have required doctors performing abortions to have admitting privileges at nearby hospitals. It marked the second time in four years that the court ruled against the abortion law after it was voted down in Texas in 2016.

June 30, 2020 | Via CNN

India Bans TikTok as Tensions with China Escalate

India is banning TikTok and several other well-known Chinese apps, saying they pose a “threat to sovereignty and integrity,” in the latest indication of escalating tensions between the two countries. India’s Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology said in a statement Monday that it had received many complaints about misuse and transmission of user data by some mobile apps to servers outside India.

June 30, 2020 | Via BBC

EU to Allow in Visitors from 14 ‘Safe’ Countries

The EU has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed “safe” to be let in from 1 July, despite the pandemic – but the US, Brazil and China are excluded. Those named include Australia, Canada, Japan, Morocco and South Korea. The EU is ready to add China if the Chinese government offers a reciprocal deal for EU travelers, diplomats say.

June 2020
« May   Jul »